“A good cook is like a sorceress who dispenses happiness.”-Elsa Schiaparelli

Hello all! It’s time for the second post and hopefully a little dispensation of happiness. I found the quote for the title of this weeks post in, where else, a Real Simple magazine. I thought it would be a great title. A little something to strive for as my skills improve. Who wouldn’t want to hand out happiness with their food? To me, there is nothing more satisfying than cooking a good meal for those you love. I know it’s been a few weeks, so I have a lot to pack in this time. I hope you find something you love…

  • Chicken Soup Base

This was a great recipe. It required a little elbow grease, but the possibilities are endless. With this soup base, you can make Minestrone, chicken tortilla soup, chicken and dumplings or Asian-style chicken soup. I’m sure that there are also another million possibilities. I chose the Rustic Chicken Minestrone (recipe to follow below). Yummy and worth the work!

Found via Martha Stewart’s, Everyday Food (January Edition, 2012) pg. 82-83 or at  http://www.marthastewart.com/872960/chicken-soup-base

Shopping List:

  • 2 lbs. chicken parts (apparently, increasingly hard to find at stores. I was told by a friend that buying chicken cutlets would suffice. I used a Better than Bouillon chicken soup base instead. This was great, but I believe that the chicken cutlets would have offered a little more flavor.
  • 1 whole chicken-poor little fella made a great stock! (3 1/2-4 lbs.)
  • 4 medium carrots
  • 3 celery stalks
  • 1 large yellow onion
  • parsley

What you may have:

  • 2 tsp. peppercorns
  • 1 tbsp. vegetable oil (I used olive oil)

I think this is a great recipe to prepare on a Sunday. That way, you only need to prepare your choice of soup recipe during the week. Enjoy!

Poor, delicious, friend!

  • Rustic Chicken Minestrone

Here is the recipe that I chose to use for my chicken soup base. While it was not the traditional Minestrone that I am used to eating, it was a great twist on the old standby with seemingly more healthy ingredients.

This recipe calls for Kale, as you will see below. Kale is my new favorite thing to cook with. I’m sure it has a true flavor, but I don’t really notice it either way once it has been added to a recipe. So, for those of you who have an aversion to some unfamiliar greens, don’t panic. I feel as if I am doing myself and my fellow “munchers,” enjoying my meal, a favor. According to Kale’s Wikipedia definition, “Kale is very high in beta carotene, vitamin K, vitamin C, lutein, zeaxanthin, and reasonably rich in calcium.” Betcha didn’t know that, you’re welcome :) This recipe made a LOT of soup and kept great as leftovers and for lunches.

Shopping List:

  • 1 medium yellow onion
  • 1 15 oz. can, diced tomatoes
  • 3/4 cup small pasta shells
  • 3 medium carrots
  • 1 Parmesan rind (I opted to not add this. Instead, I had grated parm to sprinkle on top)
  • 1 bunch Kale (preferably Tuscan)
  • 1 medium zucchini
  • 1 can chickpeas

What you may have:

  • extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves (minced)
  • Chicken Soup Base (you should have this before beginning this recipe. otherwise, you may be in the kitchen a little longer than expected. Dinner may be served promptly at 10pm!)

Found via Martha Stewart’s, Everyday Food (January Edition, 2012) pg. 86 or at http://www.marthastewart.com/872966/rustic-chicken-minestrone

Look at that gorgeous Kale!

Going into the fridge for leftovers.

  • Roasted Tomatoes with Shrimp and Feta

This recipe was extremely easy and so, so good! I will be making this again soon. If you love shrimp, this is one way to ensure that you get a dish packed with lots to keep all to yourself. I am a shrimp hoarder, I do not like to share! If you are not a fan, you could always sub in chicken or whatever other meat or non-meat substitute you’d like.

Shopping List:

  • 5 large tomatoes (I like beefsteak)
  • 1 1/2 lbs. Medium Shrimp
  • chopped fresh parsley
  •  feta, crumbled
  • crusty bread, for serving

What you may have:

  • 3 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 tbsp. minced garlic
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • 2 tbsp. lemon juice

Found via www.Pinterest.com but originally from www.realsimple.com or directly at http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/browse-all-recipes/roasted-tomatoes-shrimp-feta-10000000780294/index.html

Feast your eyes on this, but please imagine it more beautiful and ignore the mostly terrible photo quality!

Time to eat!

  • Thai Turkey Salad

This recipe was also a simple one. Although, I have undiagnosed ADD and didn’t realize that I should have used red cabbage instead of green to make this meal more aesthetically pleasing. Not to worry though, if you too suffer from this condition, your meal will still taste amazing with the green cabbage! This one is another goodie from Real Simple’s February 2012 issue, 10 ideas for ground turkey. Lord, I love that magazine.

Shopping List:

  • 1 lb. ground turkey
  •  Fish sauce (smells terrible, yet, an amazing accompaniment to many recipes and no terrible taste, once cooked)
  • 1 head shredded cabbage (DON’T FORGET TO BUY RED FOR A PRETTIER DISH)
  • cucumber (1/2 c sliced)
  • chopped peanuts
  • 2-3 limes (2 tbsp. to use while cooking, wedges for serving)

This recipe was found in the February 2012 issue of Real Simple in the article “10 ideas for: Ground Turkey,” pg. 151 or at http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/browse-all-recipes/thai-turkey-salad-00100000074827/index.html

Extras! A little bonus for you, because I love you.

Here’s a little extra since I took my sweet time for this second post! I made a few recipes for a super bowl party last weekend. One was gone before I left the party, the other, I was able to share with my co-workers this week. Now that I stare at pictures of the latter, I am drooling and want to make it again! Hope you can use these soon.

Extra #1: Pretzel Bites

I really did like this recipe. However, I think I was expecting them to taste just like a warm pretzel, which I have an unnatural obsession for. I had to remind myself that it is only Rhodes rolls. They were pretty tasty, and even though I was a little nervous about them, they were gone by the end of the game. I think next time, I will try the Cinnamon and sugar variety. Those sound amazing as well.

I also attempted to make the cheese, dipping sauce, also posted on the blog where I found this recipe. The taste was great, but I wish I would have considered having to keep it warm upon serving. It tasted great but really just “glopped,” up on me and wasn’t very good for dipping.

This recipe was found via www.pinterest.com and from the blog, Get off your butt and bake at http://www.justgetoffyourbuttandbake.com/?p=932.

    

Melted butter and Parmesan for brushing and coating the “bites.”

Extra #2: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Dip

This was so rich and so delicious. It didn’t get as much face time at the party. There was so much food and I think some people may be hesitant when you call it cookie dough dip. I felt like I needed to explain that there were absolutely no raw eggs in this. Still, so good and it definitely was not wasted on my co-workers. Thanks guys!

Found via www.pinterest.com and from a blog called addapinch.com or directly at http://addapinch.com/cooking/2011/10/14/cookie-dough-dip-recipe/

    

    


O.k., so that is it for this post! I hope that you are enjoying the blog thus far. I think I may be a little more bold this week and spread the word to some more friends and family. Thanks for visiting, please follow and come back soon. Have a happy, full belly, week!

About stickthatinyourpotandcookit

A young woman learning the endless possibilities of food. Cooking and sharing meals and treasured time with family and friends, near and far. With a little wine, forgetfulness and silliness along the way.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

